Visit the Village Academy Website

Governance - School Management Team

The Articles of Association of The Village Academy determine gthe composition of the Board of Directors, which is responsible for strategic management.

There are between 3 and 18 Directors. The Board is made up as follows:

  • Up to 10 are Trustees or appointees from the Diocese of Canterbury. The Diocese will appoint a minimum of 4 Directors, but these will be limited ot 25% of the total.
  • Up to two Staff Directors.
  • The Chief Executive Officer.
  • Two or three Parent Directors.
  • Up to two other Directors appointed by the Trustees.

The term of office of Directors (apart from Trustees and the Principal) is four years, but Directors may be re-appointed. If a Parent Director resigns or comes to the end of their four year term of office, parents will be invited to declare an interest. If there are more candidates than places, an election may be held.

Each school has a subcommittee - Dymchurch School Management Team (SMT). The subcommittees comprise one Director, the Head Teacher, and a number of non-Director Advisors. Chaired by one of its members - not necessarily the Director.

In addition, there is a Finance Subcommittee and an Audit Subcommittee, each chaired by a Director. Subcommittees have their own terms of reference.

Academy Membership can be found here on The Village Academy website

Membership of Dymchurch's School Management Team subcommittee can be found below.

Created by AnimusDesign.