Quick Links

Dymchurch Primary School

Social Links

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search



The Early Years Curriculum


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is how the Government and early years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and the age of 5. 


We love learning in Early Years and in Reception we work from the Early Year Foundation Stage curriculum. Children develop through 'exploring', 'active learning' and 'creative and thinking critically'. We call these the Characteristics of Effective Learning


There are seven areas of learning, which are divided in to Prime Areas and Specific Areas.


The Prime Areas are:

  • Communication and language  
  • Physical development  
  • Personal, social and emotional development


The Specific Areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design


These seven areas are used to plan an exciting child led curriculum around your child’s interests.


You can find the full EYFS curriculum below. You can also find additional information in the following document, Birth to 5 Matters below.


Outdoor Learning


The children at Dymchurch are immersed in lots of practical experiences through which they are encouraged to explore and experience. We believe outdoor learning is vital for development. The children use both the indoor and outdoor classroom during teacher directed and child initiated times.  We have a love of outdoor learning and come rain or shine the children are exploring our wonderful outdoor environment.